[Design] Marking items "unread" when the same user changes them on another machine

Mimi Yin mimi at osafoundation.org
Mon Dec 3 10:42:10 PST 2007


Hi Davor,

I think this is one of the issues having to do with being able to  
distinguish between 'sharing with yourself' and 'sharing with others'.
https://bugzilla.osafoundation.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8928

We've already started to make progress on this issue with  
automatically restoring published shares.
But I think the one you're describing might be especially hard to  
solve well.

1. We need to be able say that when an user sets up the same sharing  
account on multiple machines, ALL attributes should be shared,  
regardless of any 'sharing filters' have been set.
2. We also need to be able to reconcile our Read/Unread status with  
IMAP Read/Unread status.
3. If you've set up POP accounts, we can't do anything *unless* the  
POP messages are also shared.

The mixture of email/sharing will always make this slightly  
confusing. Some Unread/Read status will get synced across machines.  
Others won't.

Morgen? Do you have any thoughts on this?

Mimi

On Dec 1, 2007, at 9:51 PM, Davor Cubranic wrote:

> I use Chandler on two different machines, but use the same server
> account to sync collections between the two. Every time I sync on
> either machine, I end up with a whole bunch of "unread" items that  
> were
> edited on the other computer. I am beginning to wonder if it makes
> sense to show these as unread at all, since it is the same person
> (i.e., the same Cosmo account) making the changes.
>
> Does anyone else run into this? It's not a bug, but a wrinkle in the
> existing design that makes my workflow more awkward than it needs to
> be, and I'd like to see how common it is before filing a request on
> Bugzilla.
>
> Davor
> _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
>
> Open Source Applications Foundation "Design" mailing list
> http://lists.osafoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/design



More information about the Design mailing list