[Bulk] RE: [chandler-users] "Remove" vs "Delete" ?
jeffrey at osafoundation.org
Fri Sep 5 14:40:44 PDT 2008
> And as a follow up to that, if you create an item in a 'keep out of
> dashboard' collection, then drag it to other 'in dashboard' collections,
> removing it from the dashboard then removes it from all /including /the
> original keep out of dashboard collection!
I can see why that's unexpected, here's what's happening.
Normally, a dialog pops up when you remove items from Dashboard if they
also exist in a "keep in Dashboard" collection. The dialog says
something like "you can't remove from dashboard because this item is
also in collection foo, do you want to delete the item?". Delete means
delete from all collections, and that's what's happening.
The reason you're not seeing the dialog is you probably checked the
"don't show me this again" checkbox.
Probably a better approach would be to offer "remove from all
collections included in the dashboard" as the default, then I think it
would behave more like you expected.
More information about the chandler-users